Why I’m Starting a GoFundMe Campaign for Bubblewrap

Hey y’all… how’s your mama and ‘em?

Bubble-Wrap-KidKids should come with a warning label and a lifetime supply of bubble wrap… at least mine should have.  As a mother of four children, I have logged countless hours over the years at area hospitals and doctor’s offices.   My most recent trip was just last night when I spent several hours in the emergency room with my daughter.  After she face-planted in the hall of her dorm, we were certain her ankle was broken.  The emergency room physician released her with pain medicine and orders to follow-up with a sports medicine doctor.  And it was just last week that my oldest son, Jaden, stood too quickly while his foot was asleep, resulting in a “pop” followed by extreme pain and a loss of mobility.  He was diagnosed as having “micro-tears” and a strain to his Achilles tendon.  He’ll be sporting a walking boot for another month or so.

As I sat in the emergency room last night, the Holy Spirit brought my favorite Bible verse to mind:  When I said, “My foot is slipping,” your unfailing love, Lord, supported me.  When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought me joy.” Psalm 94:18, 19 (NIV)  The irony was not lost on me.

f7eb5c5e03bde8361a2d56605d9979af

God assures us that in good times and in bad times that “the steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord”  (Psalm 37:23a NKJV)  and that “all things work together for good to those who love God and are called according to His purposes” (Romans 8:28 NIV).

Neither of my children’s injuries came as a surprise to God.  These injuries might be an inconvenience to my children (and to the rest of our immediate family), but even in this God is working in our lives.  It has seemed this entire year has been a whirlwind of busy-ness.  Maybe God is using this as an opportunity for us to slow down and focus more on Him.  Psalm 46:10 (NIV) says, “He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”  Maybe during this season, He is echoing those eternal words to my family, “Be still.  Praise Me.”  Sometimes I can be stubborn and God has to teach me literally before I can understand spiritually.

Hopefully God doesn’t have to take as extreme measures in your life to get you to slow down, but I also hope that when He does, you can see His hand in it.  Seek Him continually, praise Him always, be still in His presence, and watch how He works in your life.

Have a blessed and bubble-wrap free week, y’all!

**Disclaimer: I do not actually intend to create a gofundme account for future bubblewrap purchases at this time.  No kids were harmed in the making of this blog post.  Prior injuries were self-inflicted.**  

Leave a Reply

