My Chains are Gone; I’ve Been Set Free

Hey y’all… how’s your mama and ‘em?

My Chains Are Gone, I've Been Set FreeIt’s no secret that I am a sucker for a dog in need.  So last week when I saw a local pastor’s post on Facebook about three dogs abandoned in crates on a vacant lot that belonged to one of his church members, I wasted no time reaching out to ask how I could help.  Within an hour a plan was made for me to pick the pups up later that evening.  I am blessed with a husband that shares my compassion for animals, but I wasn’t quite sure how he’d react to finding out we were bringing three home.  We were on the phone and I said, “Well, we’re picking up a dog tonight.  And it has a friend.  And that friend also has a friend.”  He laughed but agreed we needed to help the pups out.

When we arrived to pick the dogs up, they appeared fearful.  One even growled as we approached its crate.  As soon as we arrived home, we took them one by one to clean them up.  I washed and then passed them over to my husband and children to dry.  Once we were finished, we invited the three little dogs into our living room to play.  There was an immediate change in each of their demeanors.  They went from fearful to grateful in a matter of seconds.  Each seemed to recognize that all we had done for them was in an effort to make them more comfortable.  They showered us with kisses as they took turns running from one family member to another.

I don’t know how long these three dogs had been in the crates before they were found.  There was food and water in the crates with them.  My daughter pointed out that what could have been seen by someone as an act of mercy, ultimately would have served as a cruel and slow death had someone else not found these pups in time.  I believe the dogs had spent an enormous part of their lives in their crates.  When we would return them to their crates before bed, each walked into their own, individual crate as if though out of habit.  Upon being freed the next morning, they each danced with excitement.

As I thought about these three dogs living a life confined to a small enclosure, I remembered a time in my life when I was a captive to a prison of my own making.  The lies of the enemy held me in bondage.  Chains of regret stole my joy.  I knew Christ, but I wasn’t living in the fullness of His grace.  2 Corinthians 5:17 assures us that when we live a life in Christ, we become new creations.  It says that the old has passed away and the new has come!  Salvation opens the door to the prison in which sin enslaved us, but we still have to make the decision to walk out of it.  Galatians 5:1 says, “For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery.”  When you come to know Christ, your past is over and done.  He tells us in Isaiah 43:25, ““I, even I, am he who blots out your transgressions, for my own sake, and remembers your sins no more.”  Because of God’s goodness, we are free!

Munchkin

Two of the three dogs that were found have already been adopted.  The third dog, we named Munchkin, and are continuing to foster.  All three dogs are enjoying their new lives and the freedom that has come with it.  I hope you also are walking in the fullness of life and freedom Christ has offered you!

Have a blessed week, y’all!

Leave a Reply

